Mikky Ekko’s new album “FAME” out today



Of the album, Ekko comments, “The album is me finding my way through a labyrinth and the emotions I experienced along the way. Anyone can fake it…it’s easy to put on hats, show people one thing and mime the rest…but at the end of the day you have to look at yourself in the mirror and say this is who I am, and I wanted to give people access to who I am with this album.”
In addition to Ekko (vocals, keys) and Joyce (guitars, bass, keys, percussion, uke bass),FAME also features Timothy Deaux (guitars, bass), John Little (keys), Gavin McDonald (drums, percussion), Justin Parker (piano), David Quon (guitars, bass, piano, keys, percussion), ROBOPOP (guitars), Gustave Rudman (strings and orchestration) and Kyle Ryan (guitars).
The release of FAME follows a series of breakout years for the Nashville-based artist, after coming onto the scene in 2012 with his hit song, “Stay,” a collaboration with Rihanna. Co-written and co-sung by Ekko, “Stay” went 7x platinum, was nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group performance at the 2013 Grammy Awards and won Song of the Year at the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards. Following this success, Ekko went on to release his full-length debut album, Time, in 2015 to critical acclaim. Of the album, Rolling Stone describes, “…informs grand pop drama with indie idiosyncrasy,” while Baeble Music declares, “…stunning debut…” Most recently, Ekko spent much of 2018 touring across the world, including a series of shows as part of SiriusXM’s Alt Nation “Advanced Placement” tour as well as several dates supporting BØRNS in the U.S. and Europe. Additionally, Ekko performed at multiple marquee festivals this year including Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza, Governor’s Ball and Austin City Limits among many others.

photo credit: Naj Jamai

1. “Bitter” (written by Mikky Ekko, Clams Casino)
2. “Light The Way” (written by Mikky Ekko, Daniel Omelio)
3. “Chasing Daylight” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon, Gavin McDonald, Alex Hope, Kevin Parker)
4. “Cherish You” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon)
5. “Moment” (written by Mikky Ekko, Joel Little, David Quon)
6. “Let You Down” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon, Alex Hope)
7. “Not The One” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon)
8. “R.I.P.” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon)
9. “Blood On The Surface” (written by Mikky Ekko, Timothy Deaux)
10. “What’s It Like Now” (written by Mikky Ekko, David Quon, Gavin McDonald, Alex Hope)
11. “Fame” (written by Mikky Ekko, Justin Parker)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *